Sweet Surrender – Sarah McLachlan

I have not listened to Sarah MchLachlan in ages. Her CDs were in heavy rotation when I was in college. In re-listening to this song now, I see that the instrumental aspects are not that complicated or evocative. However, her voice is still haunting and the lyrics are still beautiful.

Her vocal range and depth is so amazing to me who is only kind of able to sing along with karaoke tracks.

I think the lyrics were why I enjoyed her music so much in college. I was an English major after all and her lyrics are very poetic. From this song:
you take me in

no questions asked

you strip away the ugliness

that surrounds me

are you an angel

am I already that gone

I only hope

that I won’t disappoint you.

Video for Sweet Surrender

~ by fortuitousoccurances on August 20, 2009.

Leave a comment