Los Angeles, I’m Yours – The Decemberists

I am a sucker for songs about Los Angeles and California. This one has a humorous bent to it as do many of the Decemberists songs. I like anyone who doesn’t take themselves too seriously and the Decemberists seems to have a good balance of that.

I love the rhythmic start to the song. There aren’t even any drums but the way the guitar playing it seems to take the place of needing drums. I also like the very simple arrangement. The singer and guitar and nothing else.

I love how it sounds like such a sweet song and then there are lyrics like ” Truncated symphony/An ocean’s garbled vomit on the shore/Los Angeles, I’m yours.” But really any love song to LA isn’t a true love song if you don’t acknowledge some of the awful. I also love a lot of the language the Decemberists clearly were English majors in a past life or own a very nice thesaurus.

Video for Los Angeles, I’m Yours

~ by fortuitousoccurances on September 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
