Heartbeats (cover) – Jose Gonzalez

I discovered this song on Pandora on my “mellow weekend mix” station. The seeds are Sun Kil Moon, Jack Johnson and Rufus Wainwright. This song really caught my attention so that I bookmarked it. And if you are wondering why he sounds familiar according to wikipedia he played on Zero 7’s album The Garden (which I know I have listened to a million and 1 times).

The guitar on this song is beautiful. It sounds intricate and clean at the same time. And Gonzalez’s voice is so smooth. This song finally breaks the mold of lots of musical changes in a single song. I would say this song sounds very much the same from the start to finish likely because it is just his voice and a guitar.

The lyrics are also beautiful but don’t seem to quite fit with the sound. Still I like the song:
One night of magic rush
The start a simple touch
One night to push and scream
And then relief

Ten days of perfect tunes
The colors red and blue
We had a promise made
We were in love

Video of Jose Gonzalez performing Heartbeats

~ by fortuitousoccurances on August 12, 2009.

Leave a comment